Response to “Why Do People Believe Miracles Are Impossible?”

Several weeks ago, I left a comment on a post about why people believe miracles aren’t possible. The author claimed that there have been “thousands of medically verified healings”, and even provided some links to back up their claim (e.g. World Christian Doctors Network), which is more than I have generally come to expect when I hear people say they have evidence of God or miracles. So, I spent a while checking out one of the provided links and then left a comment. Disappointingly, my comment never made it through moderation, so I guess I will have to chalk this up as yet another instance of my questions going unanswered when I inquire about the “evidence” for miracles or gods. The text of my comment is below.

First of all, thank you for providing links to back up your assertion that miracles happen. Too often, I see people claiming that they have evidence that God is real, or that miracles happen, but they never show me the evidence. It’s frustrating, and I can only conclude that they won’t show me the evidence because they don’t actually have any.

Personally, I don’t believe in miracles because I have never seen any solid evidence for any. I did look at a few of the case studies on the World Christian Doctors Network you linked to, but they all seemed to be stories of people who were sick or injured, who received medical treatment, who were prayed for, and (I’m making assumptions on this next part, because I’m not a doctor, and it wasn’t explained explicitly on the site) who recovered, possibly to a better extent than was expected, or in a way that the doctors didn’t know how to explain.

However, I don’t find it convincing evidence of a miracle that someone recovered, after receiving medical treatment, in a way that is medically inexplicable, from a condition that is know to have (rare) cases of spontaneous remission, like cancer (a well documented case of, say, an amputee being healed would be much more convincing).

Similar unexplained medical recoveries also happen for non-Christians. I would find accounts of miraculous healing more believable if they only happened to the believers of one religion, but they don’t. Buddhists also claim many instances of miraculous healing (see also: http://buddhaweekly.com/157/).

Also, there is a tragically large number of stories of children dying because their parents relied on faith healing in lieu of medical treatment (see: http://www.alternet.org/belief/shocking-numbers-children-die-america-when-their-parents-turn-faith-based-healing). This is not what I would expect to see if faith healing were effective.

4 thoughts on “Response to “Why Do People Believe Miracles Are Impossible?”

  1. I find it disappointing that your comment was not published. I think questioning is a good thing, and your comment was done respectfully. You took the time to read the article and do some research before submitting your comment. It should have been published and a reasonable reply made.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks. I do try to be respectful, even (or perhaps especially) when dissenting or asking hard questions. I’m glad I succeeded here.

      In any case, I’ve gotten something out of writing the comment, even if it didn’t get through moderation, and I’m happy about that.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yours was a good comment.
    In fact, to believe there are miracles, they must first be defined in a way that is precise or else finding money in a shirt pocket I don’t remember leaving any money in would qualify

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

