Quick Update

So, I’ve been absent from my blog for a couple weeks, because of some stuff that came up. I haven’t been in a position where it’s easy to access my blog, but I’m back, now. I’ve actually got a lot of ideas for new posts I want to write. So many ideas, in fact, that I’m having trouble settling on which one to write first. So, I thought I’d post a short update on the status of my blog, to let people know what’s going on, and to get the ball rolling with writing blog posts again.

7 thoughts on “Quick Update

    • Thanks.

      I’ve been planning for a while to write an educational post about “Things Cis People Should Know About Trans People”, partially because I’ve gotten several comments from different people recently saying that this or that post taught them something new about something, and partially because of some recent and not entirely pleasant interactions with cis people who were well meaning but ignorant about trans people.

      I’ve also been thinking about posting about my recent struggles with mental illness, because it’s something that significantly impacts my life, and also stigma about mental health is annoying. That, and it’s basically the reason I didn’t post for a while.

      And then I also had various ideas spawned from writing my “Questions for Atheists” post.

      And also I wanted to post about something that just happened yesterday, but if I provide even a little detail about that, I’ll feel obligated to explain it in depth.

      And I also just got my hands on a copy of Greta Christina’s “Coming Out Atheist: How to Do It, How to Help Each Other, and Why”, and I’ve found out that it quotes me (me!) in a few places, which is totally awesome. I’ve been wondering if any of my writing would be used ever since I responded to her request for atheist coming out stories when she was just starting to work on the book. I feel like I’m squeeing like a little fanboy over this, but it’s just really cool that I checked out a book I found on the shelves of my local library the other day, and it quotes me! Anyway, pics and more squeeing are in order, I think.

      So… yea. I just have so many things I want to write about that it’s hard to figure out where to start.

      Like

      • Those are great ideas. I agree that a lot of people are very ignorant about transgender people, thus why so many are transphobic. I am very interested to hear about your mental illness struggles because I suffer from a mental illness as well. (anxiety.) Regarding the book, that is incredible! I really want to take a look at it! Do you know where I can find it? (I’m not atheist, but I love to look at other views, if you know what I mean.) I would start at the transgender post first if I were you. Good luck! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • The trans stuff post would be a great starting point. I love that I end up getting such a diverse audience on my blog. It gives me such a great opportunity to some education and 101 stuff, even if only a relatively small number of people read my blog.

        The book is actually available on Amazon. And, hey, I found it at a public library, so that might be a place to check, too. For looking at other views, though, I’d suggest “Why Are You Atheists So Angry?: 99 Things That Piss Off the Godless”, also by Greta Christina. It’s the number one book I’d recommend to people who aren’t atheists to read about atheism, because it’s mostly about getting other people to understand atheists better (especially the so-called “new atheists”), rather than trying to convince people that no gods exist (like, e.g., Richard Dawkins’ “The God Delusion”). The coming out book is pretty much just about advice and experiences of atheists coming out, and it was primarily written for an atheist audience (though you might find it interesting to read about the particular difficulties atheists face when coming out, and the many various coming out stories).

        Like

  1. I’ve found that when I have a million ideas, scheduling them helps so much, because I write them all at one time. As a trans blogger dealing with mental illness myself, I definitely want to read more on your experiences in transdom, and dealings with mental illness. It’s always interesting to read about those things from other bloggers, because I know all our experiences are different. I absolutely love what I’ve read so far, you are quite a good writer sunshine ^.^ I hope you can get all your ideas out of your head!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks. I love reading about other people’s experiences with transdom and mental illness, too. It makes me feel less alone.

      I’m glad you’re enjoying my blog. I’m enjoying your comments 😀

      I thought of a new idea just today for getting myself to actually start on all those ideas I have and not just reading and commenting on other blogs all the time. I mean, if I can write essay length comments on other blogs, there’s no reason I can’t also write blog posts. So, I made myself a new rule–I have to work a little on one of my own posts before I go reading other people’s blogs.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

