Search Terms!

So, while dusting off my old blog and getting back into the rhythym of writing again, I was looking at the various search terms people used to find my blog while I wasn’t blogging, and the search terms that hit my blog in 2015 were:

  • is lucid dreaming pseudoscience
  • do aromantics date
  • straw man arguments against christianity
  • pseudoscience of dreams
  • is liquid dream is pseudoscience
  • straw man arguments against religion
  • is lucid dreaming a pseudoscience

I’m not entirely sure why people searching for “straw man arguments against christianity/religion” found my blog, but I’m pretty sure they didn’t get what they were looking for. I mean, I did write a couple posts about straw man arguments against atheism a while back. Mostly because I was sick of running into them while searching for blogs by fellow atheists in the “atheist” and “atheism” tags. I’m still sick of that, two years later. It seems like half the posts in the “atheist” tag are by Christians. This is not conducive to finding nice new atheist blogs to read…..

As to whoever found my blog by searching “do aromantics date”, that’s a really good question! And the answer is… it depends. For myself, I used to date, mostly before I’d figured out I was asexual. I did date one time after I’d figured out I was asexual, but before I’d figured out I was aromantic. That relationship really helped me figure out that I was aromantic, actually. I haven’t dated at all since I figured out I was aromantic, though. I can vaguely imagine there being circumstances in which I’d want to try dating again, but I’m not entirely sure what those would be, and it’s probably not very likely to happen. So for me, I pretty much only dated because I didn’t know I was aromantic at the time.

Last but not least, a bunch of people apparently found my blog while trying to figure out if lucid dreaming is pseudoscience. A valid question! There is a lot of pseudoscience out there about dreams and sleep. It can be kind of difficult to try to figure out which bits are woo, and which bits are actual science. Lucid dreaming, as it turns out, is actually a real thing. There have been various scientific studies showing evidence for lucid dreaming, some of which are discussed in this article. I also wrote a post a few years back about lucid dreaming not being pseudoscience. I’ve been thinking of writing a more in depth post about it, though, especially since it seems to be one of the most common search terms to land on my blog.

6 thoughts on “Search Terms!

  1. I haven’t read your blog post on lucid dreaming as I am a new follower, however, I had some troubles with it in the past. I tried lucid dreaming, and something so strange happened, and I don’t know if I can put it into words, but it was like my body was asleep but my mind was awake. I couldn’t move my body, and it was pitch dark. That scared me beyond words, and I haven’t tried lucid dreaming since. Do you know what could have happened? I am really liking your blog!

    Like

    • Probably sleep paralysis. Scared the crap out of me the first time it happened to me, and I was so, so relieved when I finally figured out there is a word for it. I’ve got a post or three I wrote about that somewhere on my blog, describing my experiences in more detail. And here’s a link to the wikipedia page on sleep paralysis that you might find helpful. Should at least be enough detail to help you figure out if that is what you experienced.

      Like

      • Really? Thank you so much. After that incident, I was afraid to fall asleep for months. Can you believe that? I still have trouble with it sometimes, but it’s rare. I will definitely check out the wikipedia page. Thank you again!

        Like

      • No problem! I really wish I had had someone to tell me what that was when it happened to me, so it feels really good to be able to do that for someone else.

        And I can totally believe that. Sleep paralysis can be really freaky, especially when you don’t know what it is. I wondered if I was going crazy or something the first time it happened to me (hallucinating a giant spider right after I woke up didn’t help… but apparently hallucinations when you’re on the edge of sleep aren’t that unusual).

        Like

  2. How cool! I wish I could figure out how people searched me up, but it always says unknown search term, except for “the good dinosaur snake has legs” and “lets blame black people for everything” I know which post that referenced, but the fact that somebody looked that up specifically is… I’m not sure how to think about that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

