National Blog Posting Month!

It is, apparently, National Blog Posting Month, or NaBloPoMo for short, which sounds really funny, but I’ve almost seen it enough times that it doesn’t sound weird anymore. Actually, it’s NaBloPoMo every month, but this month is the most popular because it coincides with NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month), which only happens in November. I was actually thinking about doing NaNoWriMo because it sounds fun, and I’ve wanted to do it for a few years. I haven’t written any fiction in a while, so it would be a good way to get back into fiction writing. But, I wasn’t sure about a it for a few reasons. I really need to concentrate on my school work, for one thing, and I’ve had just way too many things going on lately, for another. Plus, I’m not sure writing a novel all of a sudden would be the best way to get back into fiction writing. I usually like writing short stories better. Then again, it’s not like a NaNoWriMo novel needs to be any good or even make sense or have a coherent plot. It just has to surpass a certain number of words.

But, then I found out about NaBloPoMo, which I think is a better fit for me, right now. Lately, I’m more interested in reading and writing nonfiction than fiction, and NaNoWriMo is a fiction thing. Plus, I already blog regularly. Which honestly surprises me. I’ve kept up with my goal of writing a post at least once a week (roughly), for over two months, now (longer, if you ignore a hiatus or two due to depression and stress). I never thought I would actually keep up with regular blogging! That’s pretty cool. I think I could totally keep up with daily posting for a little while. After all, they don’t have to be good posts to count for NaBloPoMo, there just has to be something every day. Deliberately not worrying about quality definitely helps with quantity. And, eh, I have a feeling I’ll probably make most of the posts be at least decent, even if I’m trying not to worry about quality too much. I am a perfectionist after all. I can only stand to lower my standards so far before it drives me nuts. Plus, I don’t want to make my blog annoying to read by posting a bunch of crap. And, eh, if I run out of ideas of what to post about (and I’ve got tons of ideas at the moment, plus I need to finish up the post series I started, and I want to participate in the Carnival of Aces this month), I can always post stuff about dreams and lucid dreams I’ve had, which I’ve got tons of material for. I’ve been having lucid dreams almost weekly lately, and I’ve actually been keeping up with writing in my dream journal every day (mostly). Anyway, NaBloPoMo can’t really be much harder than keeping a dream journal (or a journal journal) every day, which I have actually gotten quite good at doing.

NaBloPoMo doesn’t seem to have any official rule list (aside from “you must post something every day”), so I’m going to set myself a few rules of my own. I’ll count a day as starting at 8am EST, because I’m almost always asleep at that time, so it works well with my personal mental conception of the transition from one day to the next. As another personal rule, I’m going to say that although all of the posts must have been written in the month of November, they don’t have to be written on the day they are posted. I’m not sure if that works with NaBloPoMo, but working ahead and having a small buffer of posts is a good habit for regular blogging, because then I can still post regularly for whatever personal deadline I set, even if something unexpected happens or I just don’t feel like writing one day. Also, if I get behind on posting something every day even with trying to keep a bit of a buffer, I’m not going to worry about catching up, but just try to keep going and ignore the fact that I missed a day. I get too stressed if I’m worrying about new deadlines and catching up with work from old deadlines at the same time. I have enough of that with school when different teachers make homework assignments and essays be due on the same day, and then I can only finish some of it before the deadline and when I get to working on the stuff I didn’t finish, I have to worry about new assignments too. Bleh. There is no way I am going to deal with that in my free time with stuff I do for fun, because it would make it stop being fun.

Anyway. I may throw in an extra post at some point to count for the day I missed because I didn’t know NaBloPoMo existed yet, but if I don’t get around to it, I’m not going to worry about it. Also, I know I’ve been posting about other stuff when I mean to be finishing that Roommate Saga series I started, but look on the bright side: if I’m posting every day, I’ll be finishing it much sooner than I would be when I was posting once a week. I’ll have the next part up by tomorrow, I promise. Well, maybe. If it’s not too stressful to write. But I’ll at least start on it, anyway. Um, why yes, saying “maybe” right after saying “I promise” does totally undermine the promise part…

2 thoughts on “National Blog Posting Month!

  1. If you start to run out of ideas, I would recommend checking out some daily writing prompts. There are some that are more for fiction writing, and some that seem to be for a 5th grade classroom, but some of them are decent. Some of them are even made especially for NaBloPoMo, which is pretty neat. I haven’t really looked too much into that yet, but I know that even WordPress is going to be having daily prompts for this month. Good luck! I look forward to seeing what you bring out this month!

    Like

Leave a Reply

